About us

It is EPEE’s mission to promote a better understanding of the Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heat Pump (RACHP) sector in the EU and to contribute to the development of effective European policies in order to achieve a long-term sustainability agenda.

The European Partnership for Energy and the Environment (EPEE) represents the refrigeration, air-conditioning and heat pump industry in Europe.

Founded in the year 2000, EPEE’s membership is composed of over 50 member companies, national and international associations, representing over 30 billion Euros annual turnover, over 200.000 direct jobs and millions of indirect jobs.

EPEE member companies have manufacturing sites and research and development facilities across the EU, which innovate for the global market.

As an expert association, EPEE is supporting safe, environmentally and economically viable technologies with the objective of promoting a better understanding of the sector in the EU and contributing to the development of effective European policies.

As part of the activities EPEE and its members are undertaking to raise awareness on sustainable cooling, EPEE will launch a broader #CountOnCooling campaign. The EPEE White Paper “Count on Cooling: A five-step approach to deliver sustainable cooling” examines the crucial role of cooling in the 21st century.

For more information please  see our websites www.epeeglobal.org and www.countoncooling.eu


Our Leadership

EPEE Chairman: Jürgen Fischer (Danfoss)

Jürgen has broad leadership experience from global industrial companies within IT, telecommunication, and machine-building. He is passionate about the digital transformation in the cooling sector and constantly challenges innovation to leverage e.g. the potential of energy storage across Danfoss.

In 2008, Jürgen joined Danfoss as Vice President for Industrial Automation, and in 2010, he became Senior Vice President for Automatic Controls. In 2013, he was appointed President of the Refrigeration and A/C Division, and since 2015, Jürgen Fischer has been President of Danfoss Cooling.

Jürgen holds a Master’s Degree in Economics from the University of Augsburg. In addition, he holds several degrees from executive education programs at INSEAD and IMD and is a member of the Steering Board of EPEE – the European Partnership for Energy and the Environment.

EPEE Vice-Chair: Andrea Vallejo (Johnson Controls)

Andrea was appointed Vice President & General Manager of Johnson Controls’ Global Industrial Refrigeration in December 2019 and is a member of Johnson Controls Sustainability Leadership Committee. She joined Johnson Controls in 2008 and has held several Operational and General Management responsibilities in Europe & Africa and Latin America.

Prior to Johnson Controls Andrea worked for Carrier, UTC and she started her career as a consultant at The Boston Consulting Group. Andrea has an MBA from INSEAD Business School and a MSc in Business Administration from University of Saragossa, Spain.  She is a member of EPEE Steering Committee since 2018.



EPEE Treasurer: Murli Sukhwani (FluoroChemicals, Chemours)

Murli Sukhwani is the EMEA Director of FluoroChemicals at the Chemours Company since 2015 and is based in Geneva. Murli Sukhwani is an experienced business senior-director with proven capability in leading sales, marketing, business development, technology and customer service teams.

Prior to his current position, Murli Sukhwani served as EMEA Regional Director at Kalrez & Vespel. He holds a Masters in Audit & Internal Control degree from Universidad Politecnica in Madrid, Spain, and is equally a Steering Committee member of EFCTC (Cefic).


EPEE Director General : Folker Franz

Folker Franz comes most recently from Hitachi ABB Power Grids and the ABB Group, a multinational corporation active in power and industrial automation technologies, where he was the Head of Government Relations for the EU.

Before joining ABB in 2012, Folker worked at BusinessEurope, the European business federation. As Industrial Affairs Director, he notably represented European industry in the political discussions around the landmark 2020 EU climate and energy package.

He is a trained economist and of German nationality. He was born and raised in Cologne.

Working Groups
We are organised in specific policy working groups that elaborate EPEE’s position on EU policies and legislations and steer EPEE engagement on those issues:

F-Gas Working Group
Chair: Mihai Scumpieru (Mitsubishi Electric)
Vice Chair: Emilie Stumpf (Panasonic)

Ecodesign Working Group
Chair: Els Baert (Daikin Europe)
Vice chair: Dina Köpke (Emerson Climate Technologies)

Energy Efficiency Working Group
Chair: Christina Von Westernhagen (Johnson Controls)
Vice Chair: Stefaan Vanderstraeten (Daikin Europe)

Our Secretariat


Under the direction of Folker Franz, EPEE’s Director General, the association is managed by its Secretariat.

Folker Franz


Director General

Stefan Thie


Technical Consultant

Federica Rizzo


Senior Policy Director

Russell Patten


Strategic Advice & Guidance

Habib Msallem




Dominik Flikweert



Otto Ilveskero



Tim Sollberger


Energy Efficiency & F-Gas

Click here to see our members

Click here to see our network