Kigali Amendment to enter into force January 2019

20 / 11 / 2017

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, which will bring about a global phase-down of hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs), will enter into force in January 2019 as 21 parties have now ratified the amendment, including EU member states Finland, Germany, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Sweden and the UK. A full list of the countries that have ratified the agreement is available here.

EPEE commends the signatories and on this momentous occasion, reminds stakeholders of the work needed to achieve the goals of this Agreement through coming together and sharing best practice.

The Kigali Amendment is an amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer and was adopted by the 28th Meeting of Parties to the Montreal Protocol (MOP28) on 15 October 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda. The Amendment adds hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) to the list of substances controlled under the Protocol and which are to be phased down. For the Amendment to enter into force on 1 January 2019, it had to be ratified by 20 parties to the Montreal Protocol.